According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, there were 74,772 traffic crashes reported in 2015. In 2015 on an average day in Minnesota the statistics show there would have been 205 crashes, 1 death, and 82 injuries as a result of motor vehicle accidents.
Minnesota is a “no-fault” state. This means if you are injured in a car accident that generally your own automobile insurance company is obligated to pay for your medical treatment. Basic no-fault policies provide for $20,000 coverage for medical bills, including x-rays, diagnostic tests, prescriptions, therapy, chiropractic, and other forms of treatment. Basic no-fault policies also provide up to $20,000 coverage for wage loss if, as a result of your injuries, your doctor disables you from working. The amount of payment is somewhat limited by Minnesota law. The disability amount is calculated by multiplying your weekly wage by 85%. The maximum amount payable under law is $500.00 per week.
Since Minnesota is a “no-fault” state, a threshold must be met in order to make a claim against the wrongdoer. In other words, your injuries must be sufficiently serious for a personal injury claim to be made as a result of a car accident. You must meet at least one of the following thresholds in order to bring a claim against the at-fault driver:
• $4,000 in Medical Expense. If your medical expenses exceed $4,000 you have
crossed a threshold and can bring a claim against the other driver for pain, suffering, future medical bills, loss of earning
capacity, wage loss, and emotional distress. X-rays and other diagnostic tests do not count in calculating the amount of
medical bills for this threshold.
• Permanent Injury. Often injuries become permanent. This is a question to be
answered by a doctor. There are obvious permanent injuries such as loss of a limb or fractured bone but many permanent
injuries are more subtle, especially soft tissue injuries.
• Sixty (60) Days Disability. If as a result of your injuries you are disabled for more than sixty days, you also cross a threshold.
The 60 days does not have to be consecutive, just cumulative.
• Permanent Disfigurement. This threshold is most commonly seen as a scar. If you have incurred scarring as a result of the
accident or surgery resulting from an injury sustained in the accident and the scar is permanent, than you have crossed a
• Death. This threshold is obvious and hopefully never occurs.
At Meyer, Puklich & Merriam our personal injury attorneys are dedicated to protecting your rights. We stand ready, willing and able to assist you at any time.