Have You Been Involved In A Car Crash In Minnesota?
According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, there were 74,772 traffic crashes reported in 2015. In 2015 on an average day in Minnesota, the statistics show there would have been 205 crashes, one death and 82 injuries as a result of motor vehicle accidents.
Minnesota is a “no-fault” state. This means if you are injured in a car accident, generally your own automobile insurance company is obligated to pay for your medical treatment. Basic no-fault policies provide for $20,000 coverage for medical bills, including x-rays, diagnostic tests, prescriptions, therapy, chiropractic and other forms of treatment. Basic no-fault policies also provide up to $20,000 coverage for wage loss if, as a result of your injuries, your doctor certifies that you are disabled to work. The amount of payment is somewhat limited by Minnesota law. The disability amount is calculated by multiplying your weekly wage by 85 percent. The maximum amount payable under law is $500.00 per week.
Since Minnesota is a “no-fault” state, a threshold must be met in order to make a claim against the wrongdoer. In other words, your injuries must be sufficiently serious for a personal injury claim to be made as a result of a car accident. You must meet at least one of the following thresholds in order to bring a claim against the at-fault driver:
- $4,000 in Medical Expense. If your medical expenses exceed $4,000, you have crossed a threshold and can bring a claim against the other driver for pain, suffering, future medical bills, loss of earning capacity, wage loss and emotional distress. X-rays and other diagnostic tests do not count in calculating the amount of medical bills for this threshold.
- Permanent Injury. Often injuries become permanent. This is a question to be answered by a doctor. There are obvious permanent injuries such as loss of a limb or fractured bone but many permanent injuries are more subtle, especially soft tissue injuries.
- 60 Days Disability. If as a result of your injuries, you are disabled for more than 60 days, you also cross a threshold. The 60 days does not have to be consecutive, just cumulative.
- Permanent Disfigurement. This threshold is most commonly seen as a scar. If you have incurred scarring as a result of the accident or surgery resulting from an injury sustained in the accident and the scar is permanent, then you have crossed a threshold.
- Death. This threshold is obvious and hopefully never occurs.
Schedule Your Initial Consultation
At Meyer, Puklich, & Merriam, our personal injury attorneys are dedicated to protecting your rights. We stand ready, willing and able to assist you at any time. Call 952-444-9920 or use our firm’s email form.